Skip to content
10 May 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Making friends with the neighbours

My best sorry face

My best sorry face

Stayed out of trouble today and had a great puddly run around with my friends. Am finally getting the attraction of the whole ball fetching game – sort of. Happy to chase (if I know I’ll get there first) but balls are not dead ducks, fish, pigeons or small animals which I’m bred to retrieve so why fetch a hard rubber bouncing thing? Tastes yuk too.

So, pottered home feeling pleased with myself and passed our new neighbours house. They’ve been renovating and don’t have a garden gate and the front door was open, beckoning me into a treasure trove of smells. Tugged so hard on my lead my owner couldn’t control me. Broke free and raced inside, down the stairs into the kitchen.  Heard owner yell ‘Ruby’s coming, watch out’ several times as a friendly greeting.

Neighbour and wife were having a quiet cup of coffee but I spied four chicken breasts defrosting on the kitchen bench.  Quick jump, easy fetch and gobbled them up in four gulps. Spun around, hoovered down a bowl of kibble and realised it was cat food. Must be upstairs! Raced back to entry level (skittered past owner in muddy boots), then up more stairs to the top floor (lovely new white carpet, very soft underfoot) and found spitting cat on the bed (more white carpet, white bed linen, white walls).

Heard shrieking and thunderous footsteps. Wife grabbed my collar and roughly bustled me downstairs. If she’d been softer, I wouldn’t have dragged my muddy chest on the stair carpet, causing black smudging all the way down.

Furious owner marched me straight home to cold shower outside and a telling off.

Owner has just popped round to the neighbours with a peace offering – coffee, biscuits and $200 to clean the carpet. Think they need better security to live in my street.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pjdonna / May 10 2013 1:43 pm

    omg… I hope the neighbours didn’t give you too hard a time!

  2. rubytheblacklabrador / May 10 2013 1:49 pm

    Mmmm. They were vv cross at the time, especially at me for not being able to control her (she’s 30kg and can pull really hard) and also in shock at the whole thing which was over and done with in about 2 mins. Went round about an hour later (after trip to cash machine) and they could see the funny side of things. Their front gate is being installed on the weekend so their house should be Ruby-proof after that 🙂

  3. tinywhitecottage / May 10 2013 2:01 pm

    I really don’t think you could make this stuff up! I know! I’ve seen my dog charge into our neighbors house too! Thank goodness he didn’t create the damage Ruby has managed to do! This is such a gorgeous photograph of Ruby! 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 10 2013 2:09 pm

      Yes, she does look particularly gorgeous today. Life is never dull with Ruby around. We’ve been living with escapades like this for over two years now – there’s a pattern! Either with Ruby (probably definitely) or with our (lack of) control over here (which is also likely)! She is generally getting better at ‘coming’ when off sniffing something out though…

Leave a Reply

