Skip to content
20 May 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Possum feast

Curled up with full belly

Curled up with full belly

Apparently I’m not getting any dinner tonight after my 45 minute long snack on a dead baby possum.

Great time today with Rosie, full of the usual Monday morning sampling of leftovers from Sunday picnics. Half-way through the walk we found a dead possum deep in the forest. I grabbed it first and paraded around in the long grass to show the other dogs who’s the expert seeker, finder and keeper of all things smelly.

Both humans and dogs tried to get it off me, forming a coordinated barrier at times across my path, but they had no chance and gave up. My owner finally walked off in disgust but I know the route so settled down and ate the whole carcass.

Eventually realised I was completely alone so trit-trotted off to find Rosie. She was standing with our owners patiently waiting about 300 metres away. My owner said nothing at all and (quite calmly for her I thought) leashed me. No treats on the way home, no biscuit for lunch and everything strangely quiet.

Happy on my bed though, with full belly, dreaming of more possum tomorrow.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rosie / May 20 2013 3:12 pm

    Another great adventure Ruby. You dodged us well!

  2. pjdonna / May 21 2013 1:04 am

    Quite capable of finding her own food… you can start saving on the food money :P… *just kidding* hope she’s is doing good and no tummy upset.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 21 2013 9:56 am

      Yes maybe I should just leave her in the park for a few days – she could easily survive! Stomach is iron clad too.

  3. twoblackdoggies / May 24 2013 8:20 pm

    Stinky dead animal, always an exciting find at least for dogs, mine tend to like to roll in stinky dead things 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 25 2013 7:38 am

      It’s just horrid isn’t it? Ruby tends to eat stinky dead things with fur but rolls in slimey dead things like eels and fish – disgusting!

  4. Booksphotographsandartwork / May 25 2013 2:10 pm

    I am so laughing at this. You silly dog you. I know, I know you can’t really help it. Just remember us humans have a completely different sense of smell than you guys. Sometimes that makes life difficult.

Leave a Reply

