Skip to content
23 May 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Morning tea with new friends

Who could refuse this friendly face?

Who could refuse this friendly face?

At the top of the park there is a huge, still-working, covered reservoir, built in the 1880’s to collect and pipe water to the early settlement of Sydney. The grass on the slopes of the reservoir is particularly luscious and I love crawling downhill on it.

A water authority team on a tea break laughed at my advanced yoga so I pottered over for a pat and a tummy rub.  They were gearing up to descend into the murky depths to do some maintenance work.  One of the men stood up, wary of me, so (eager to make friends with everyone) I licked his hairy legs in a friendly way.  He immediately dropped his ham sandwich for me to eat – lovely man. I persisted with my greeting and as he backed off, he knocked over his plastic lunchbox which revealed the other half of the sandwich and an apple.  Grabbed and scoffed the other sandwich then raced to ‘fetch’ his apple which was rolling down the hill.

The team cheered loudly but wary man was sad.  Chomped on the apple but it was very tart so I dropped it at his feet and obediently ‘came’ to my owner who was looking on in horror.

Think I made some new friends though.

 

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tinywhitecottagetin / May 23 2013 2:35 pm

    I have grown to love Ruby!! Sweet…sweet girl!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 23 2013 2:54 pm

      Writing about her has actually made me love her too – my crossness at her distractions, poor eating choices and general exuberance are mellowing…but each day brings new challenges.

  2. terrimm / May 24 2013 10:24 am

    Hello Ruby! My name is Moo, and I’m also a black labrador… but I live in Melbourne. I just found your blog via Mollie and Claire… and I’m looking forward to reading about your adventures 😀

  3. araneus1 / May 24 2013 11:30 am

    Thank you for following ‘Understanding Your Dog’, it is very encouraging.
    Terry

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 24 2013 4:25 pm

      Thanks Terry – your observations are really insightful and I love the photos from your youth.

  4. Booksphotographsandartwork / May 25 2013 2:05 pm

    Ha ha you are so funny.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 25 2013 4:44 pm

      I think so too. Not sure about my owner though (think she is starting to see the funny side of things – sometimes).

Leave a Reply

