Skip to content
25 May 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Things to do with a big fish

Mermaid Ruby - covered in fish scales

Mermaid Ruby – covered in fish scales

Stumbled across a huge, smelly, dead carp today.  Carps are pests in the ponds as they eat baby eels, ducklings and native fish and on top of this they actually taste awful.

After an undetected, luxurious roll, the scales were all smeared over my body.  The pedant in the kitchen (under whose watch I am allocated on weekends) hobbled over to pull me away but skidded in the wet grass and fell right onto the fish.  I jumped on his back and eagerly licked him to make sure he was ok, spreading the fish smell on his trousers and coat.  A fellow dog walker stopped to help but the pedant yelled  ‘keep back’ and refused all offers of assistance.

Was marched straight home (think because he smelt so terrible) and had a nice hot shower together.  Happy to say that even after three shampoos the beautiful waft of carp is still permeating the house.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Booksphotographsandartwork / May 25 2013 2:03 pm

    I love it, so funny. Sounds exactly like something that would happen with my dogs. Now you have to learn not to do such naughty things though if you want to continue having nice walks.

  2. dianaslack / May 25 2013 2:19 pm

    How come you get hot showers? All I ever get is the garden hose…

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 25 2013 2:36 pm

      Yes me too. But the greasy scales wouldn’t lather up with shampoo so I was carted off to the shower with dad.

  3. terrimm / May 25 2013 6:01 pm

    Hey Ruby! I’ve never got to taste a carp, but I just wanted to report that today I managed to jump on the Coffee Man, steal a vegemite scroll off a baby and roll in a deliciously smelly dead rat – and all that before breakfast! Impressive hey? Moo x

  4. mollieandclaire / May 25 2013 6:05 pm

    Mollie is in awe of Ruby.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / May 25 2013 9:44 pm

      I’m sure in a short space of time Ruby could teach Mollie everything she knows.

      • mollieandclaire / May 26 2013 3:26 am

        I am absolutely sure. Molls is easily led!

  5. Margaret Haynes Meritt / May 25 2013 8:36 pm

    My house is Lab X 2! Lovely smells and big wet foot prints!

Leave a Reply

