Skip to content
1 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Today I ate…

My second favourite tree

My second favourite tree

Inspired by Diplomatic Dog’s Today I ate… post decided to record my ‘food’ consumption.

So here goes – Today I ate…

  • 1 1/2 cups kibble for breakfast
  • one discarded mouldy bread roll in the gutter on the way to the park
  • four pieces of possum poo on the pavement on the way to the park
  • one smallish dead mouse on the track (this and the following are in the park)
  • three pieces of possum poo under my second favourite tree (pictured)
  • one massive clump of fresh horse poo where horses enter the park (they trot round on a special track)
  • assorted crumbs under a picnic table
  • one plasic bag containing (and including) a discarded sandwich
  • one piece of chewing gum (extricated from my teeth by owner)
  • several chocolate bar wrappers
  • one crumbled up piece of aluminium foil
  • one bat wing
  • lots of grass (only a particular species though)
  • one small piece of blue plastic (possibly part of a discarded bottle top)
  • bits of a log I chewed
  • bits of a pine cone I chewed
  • one apple core in the gutter on the way home
  • one half eaten cracker biscuit stolen from the hand of a small child
  • some spinach leaves from the veggie patch (yuk)
  • 1/2 cup of kibble for dinner (rather than usual 1 1/2 cups because of my supplementary consumption during the day)

Feeling happy and contented and will sleep well tonight.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. twoblackdoggies / Jun 1 2013 6:34 pm

    You’ve certainly done alot of snacking today Ruby and what an interesting variety of snacks too! 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 1 2013 6:55 pm

      Yes – never a dull moment with my scavenging. Some of it is even done when I’m on the lead and despite having my jaws prised apart, I’ve usually eaten whatever I’ve picked up already.

  2. Margaret Haynes Meritt / Jun 1 2013 7:26 pm

    Ha! I see you have a poo connoisseur, as well!

  3. susank456 / Jun 1 2013 10:17 pm

    The ickier the better! That’s what Charlie likes too.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 2 2013 10:04 am

      Yes I love anything really smelly and awful although I don’t eat citrus or discarded banana peel.

  4. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Jun 1 2013 11:54 pm

    Wow, I’d say you had a good day of snacks… especially icky sounding ones!

  5. tinywhitecottage / Jun 2 2013 7:18 am

    You have quite an appetite girl!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 2 2013 10:00 am

      Yes – always hungry. Apparently the labrador brain doesn’t know when the stomach is full so constantly seeks out snacks. Maybe I’m just greedy though…

      • tinywhitecottage / Jun 2 2013 10:03 am

        True. My big black lab (all 110 lean pounds of him) would also eat non stop if we let him! His latest daily find is the cat poo under our porch! That darn cat next door!

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 2 2013 10:08 am

        Fortunately we don’t get much cat poo round here, just lashings of possum poo – even on our middle-of-the-city urban balcony.

Leave a Reply

