Skip to content
11 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Tunnelling to New Zealand

Where's Ruby?

Where’s Ruby?

Can’t really understand my obsession with New Zealand at the moment but today decided to see if this tunnel would get me there.  It’s in an undercliff area and with a bit of scrabbling I squeezed in to explore.

Quite wide at the mouth, it soon got darker and darker and narrower and narrower.  About 20 metres in I couldn’t go any further but there was a nice pile of something tasty to eat so I ate it.  Could hear distant, frantic calls of owner and jangling of treat bag but kept exploring for some time.

Suddenly all was quiet and spooky so decided to get out quick smart.  But…realised there was no room to turn around and felt trapped.  After about 10 minutes of silent pondering made some loud whining noises to let owner know I was still there and hadn’t gone to NZ.  She called back kind words of encouragement like ‘Come’ (but in a gentle way) and ‘Look what I’ve got’ (in a there’s-lots-of food-for-you way).

Discovered reverse thrust mode, pushed with my back legs and shot out like a cork from a bottle.  Ran crazily round and round, shaking the dust and dirt off, relieved to be free.  Owner true to her word gave me lots of treats and tummy rubs.

Am slowly giving up on all thoughts of New Zealand.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mollieandclaire / Jun 11 2013 9:12 pm

    I can’t believe how adventurous she is! It’s like we have different breeds of dogs!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 11 2013 9:33 pm

      Would trade you any day – this is my life now…but I have to say that writing it all down and sharing it has been a massive stress relief. Used to dread the daily long walk but now I sort of hope she’ll get up to something so I record it for posterity!

  2. fozziemum / Jun 11 2013 10:00 pm

    Bless her rotten cotton socks whats with the adventure bug..she sounds like theres a tad hound dog in there hehehe labs goota love em 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 11 2013 10:18 pm

      Not sure. I’m the one who wants to escape!

      • fozziemum / Jun 11 2013 10:31 pm

        Hahahahaha get in first then! perhaps shes Ruby the conquistador Labrador 🙂

  3. Rosie / Jun 11 2013 10:21 pm

    What an adventurer you are Ruby . ; ))

  4. susank456 / Jun 12 2013 7:07 am

    You poor baby. Lucky for you, your owner was there. A happy ending, that’s good.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 12 2013 10:52 am

      Yes – didn’t want to be crawling in there myself. Actually used my iphone as a torch so I could see where she was. A few more possums in her belly and she would have been stuck!

  5. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jun 21 2013 5:46 am

    It’s probably for the best Ruby. Stick closer to home and stay out of dark holes.

Leave a Reply

