Skip to content
16 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Anchors away

Don't sail off without me

Don’t sail off without me

Reading about the adventures of Baily the boat cat, I’ve been keeping my eye on harbour activity.

Today, as I trotted along the wharf, a yacht motored up to moor.  Instead of my usual plop into the water, I decided to jump the two metre gap from the wharf straight onto the boat.  To the astonishment of the three couples onboard (and squeals of delight from the ladies) I landed with a huge thump and skittled onto the shiny, plastic deck.

Quickly realised they were in the middle of a breakfast party so bundled down to the galley where I snaffled a plate of crispy bacon before being collared and hauled back upstairs.  After several minutes of delicate yacht manoeuvring was dragged to dry land by my very cross owner.  Skipper did a quick about turn and headed to a distant anchorage.  Sat staring after them for ages, refusing to budge and dreaming about life on the high seas.

19 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sonel / Jun 16 2013 6:53 pm

    Well, you must have a good breakfast in the morning Ruby…hahahahaha. I am sure if I was there on that boat I would have taken you and your owner for a drive as well. Your owner shouldn’t be cross..heheheh. You were just doing what you do best. 😀 *hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 16 2013 7:01 pm

      The worst part was seeing her wonder dog leap from wharf to boat – didn’t think she’d make it The bacon I could have predicted!

      • Sonel / Jun 16 2013 7:16 pm

        I bet! I would have freaked out too as she could have hurt herself. I am very glad she didnt. 😀
        LOL! Nothing better than bacon for breakfast for sure..heheheh

  2. debhuntinbrokenhill / Jun 16 2013 7:10 pm

    The adventures of Ruby would make a great book when all collected together – I loved reading about her!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 16 2013 7:11 pm

      Glad you enjoy her adventures. I like writing about them – very theraputic!

  3. fozziemum / Jun 16 2013 8:05 pm

    Nautical (NAUGHTY) girl you could have hurt yourself..least of all mums reputation…;) poor mum..try and b a goodish girl perhaps for maybe one day 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 16 2013 8:11 pm

      Yes very silly idea. She did come canoeing with us once on a shallow lake. Kept jumping on and off the canoe which was ok but the harbour and proper boats are another thing!

      • fozziemum / Jun 16 2013 8:15 pm

        Way too little fear that girl hehehe.. the lab can be a dag! hence Forrests name Forrest….run Forrest run hehehe 🙂

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 16 2013 8:16 pm

        Ahhhh. Well named then.

      • fozziemum / Jun 16 2013 8:17 pm

        For sure..he is a smart boy but still a huge goofball 🙂

  4. susank456 / Jun 16 2013 8:49 pm

    Ruby sounds a lot like our Orso. Maybe they are related.

  5. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Jun 16 2013 11:42 pm

    That’s some serious shenanigans there Ruby!

  6. shazzarob / Jun 17 2013 5:22 am

    OMG what a naughty girl. You deserve a medal Ruby’s owner. :)) x

  7. Office Diva / Jun 19 2013 2:13 pm

    What a gorgeous dog! But then, I am very partial to Labradors…….I have always had Black Labs, but we now have a Yellow One, and she is beautiful, sweet, and I just love her to bits. We also have a Golden Retriever, and he’s wonderful too. Love your blog, looking forward to future posts.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 19 2013 2:28 pm

      Thanks a lot! So you’ve got your hands full too. Hope you enjoy reading about Ruby’s (mis)adventures.

Trackbacks

  1. Sleepy Sunday | Ruby the black labrador

Leave a Reply

