Skip to content
22 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Fisherman’s friend

So full I can't move

So full I can’t move

Coldest day of the Sydney winter so far and my throat is scratchy. Fortunately, two fishermen sat on the harbour wall, feet dangling towards the water, backs turned from a huge bucket of sardines.  Shot off like a bullet towards the target and, head down, munched on fresh fish.  Just delicious!

Men heard the shouts of my owner and swiveled round, but not before I’d finished off the sardines and had started on a smaller pail of worms.  Needless to say they hadn’t caught anything yet and without any bait they weren’t likely to catch anything on this glorious morning.  Lots of animated chatter which I took to be friendly so started jumping at the fishermen in excitement.  Saw money changing hands, was leashed and marched home.

Belly full of slippery things – what a great start to the weekend.

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Office Diva / Jun 22 2013 10:44 am

    Hilarious! Ruby, it’s such a good thing you are so beautiful and so well loved; I’m sure Master cannot stay mad for long. :O)

  2. weliveinaflat / Jun 22 2013 11:23 am

    Oh what a lovely smooshed face 😛 Why do you even bother with worms when you already had sardines? o_O Despite her wobbly bottom, Ruby must be quite a stealth hunter if the fisherman didn’t realise her presence until its too late! 😛 I think you need to relax for the afternoon Ruby human.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 22 2013 12:39 pm

      Yes, she sneaks up swiftly but it was quite windy and noisy so there was no way they could have heard her. They barely heard my yelling. Actually, hard to know what to yell – ‘Ruby’s coming’/’incoming dog’/’watch out’ and such variations didn’t reach there ears til too late. You’re right, a lie down for me this afternoon 🙂

  3. weliveinaflat / Jun 22 2013 12:47 pm

    Ruby needs to be accompanied by her own marching band. *nods solemnly* 😛

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 22 2013 12:52 pm

      Great idea. Or maybe I could attach a cat bell to her collar. Not a good look though!

  4. Sonel / Jun 22 2013 3:49 pm

    Whahahahahaha! Oh Ruby, you are just the most adorable and cutest ever! Now you’ve made me hungry too! LOL! I am sure your mama would like to buy me some of those sardines too! hahahahahha
    Love the shot! Just too beautiful for words! 😀
    Have a great weekend. 😀 *big hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 22 2013 4:12 pm

      Having a great relax here today but there is a terrible smell of fishy breath surounding Ruby. We are all staying away!

      • Sonel / Jun 22 2013 4:53 pm

        LOL! I bet you are. Just send some blowing kisses from me to her then. 😀

  5. Elsa Primal Pooch / Jun 22 2013 6:17 pm

    I love sardines too. Why do bipeds leave food on the ground if they don’t want us to eat them? I’ve just had half a mackerel for my breakfast so I’ve a slippery thing in my tum too.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 22 2013 7:40 pm

      I agree. They leave things hanging around and then get cross when we snaffle them. Did you steal the mackerel or did it appear in your food bowl?

  6. susank456 / Jun 23 2013 3:30 am

    How old did you say Ruby is? I’d swear she is under 2 years old. Good luck to you.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 23 2013 5:15 pm

      Young Ruby will be three in August which is apparently the magic age when labradors ‘settle’. 6 weeks to go now and sadly no evidence of this…

  7. Julianne Victoria / Jun 24 2013 2:50 am

    Rest your tummy now Ruby! Wooooowooooooo, Ku

Leave a Reply

