Skip to content
24 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Red red wine

Sleeping it off

Sleeping it off

Think Ruby must have been channelling Dottieย because not only did she guard our wine whilst we were away (for three hours) last night, she somehow:

  • Dragged a full red wine bottle off the kitchen bench without spilling it
  • Gently carried it upstairs onto my bed
  • Carefully unscrewed the cap
  • Drank some of the contents
  • Emptied the rest of the red wine on my duvet which soaked through to the sheets, underblanket and onto the mattress
  • Fell sleep with her legs in the air in the middle of the mess

Mattress is unsalvageable and council is coming to pick it up tomorrow.

I’m in the spare bed and Ruby is lucky to just have a hangover.

What went wrong?

50 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. 1st World Dog / Jun 24 2013 1:38 pm

    Ruby… you are my hero!!! That is SO impressive. My muddy paws I have taken through the house today hold nothing on that effort. Paws Up!

  2. weliveinaflat / Jun 24 2013 1:41 pm

    Glad Ruby is safe and sound, must be her cast iron stomach at work. Who knows what a dog is thinking, really? I don’t. I’m just counting mishap-free days in the flat and treating Donna for being pretty good since her last flower eating incident. I know I feel awful enough already just thinking about the mess. So don’t beat yourself over it. Enjoy the new bed when it comes. Meanwhile take care in the cold weather.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 1:50 pm

      Thanks – did shed a tear over my lovely wool covered extra firm latex mattress as I loved it. And actually glad she didn’t bite the glass. She looked pitiful when we got home poor thing!

  3. Julianne Victoria / Jun 24 2013 1:44 pm

    Ruby, drinking alone is not good for you. I think you might benefit from AA. Woooooowooooooo, Ku

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 1:51 pm

      Thanks – does AA cope with food obsession too? – hope so x

    • weliveinaflat / Jun 24 2013 1:53 pm

      Sorry to interject here but WAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! AA! Ku, you are hilarious. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 2:22 pm

        Interjection granted. Maybe I could organise an intervention…

  4. terrimm / Jun 24 2013 2:32 pm

    Oh my goodness Ruby! Obviously, I’m just going to have to try harder ~ my escapades are nowhere near as good as yours. Moo x

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 2:36 pm

      Hopefully this was a one off. After my walk this morning I’ve been drinking heaps of water and dry retching. Not pleasant. Can’t recommend wine at all!

  5. Sonel / Jun 24 2013 3:08 pm

    Oh, I so wish I was there Ruby. Think of all the fun we could have had…or was I there. Hmmm…can’t remember! Just don’t tell your mom. LOL!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 5:00 pm

      Have to say I think she accomplished this all by herself although I’m not sure what drove her to drink!

      • Sonel / Jun 24 2013 5:04 pm

        Hmmm…that is a troubling thought for sure. Does she have any friend there? Maybe they had a party when you were gone. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 7:00 pm

        Always a possibility with Ruby!

      • Sonel / Jun 24 2013 8:01 pm

        hehehehe! As long as she had fun. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. susank456 / Jun 24 2013 5:25 pm

    And I thought my dogs were creative in their shenanigans, but Ruby is definitely the queen. Labs are eternally youthful and playful so you have your hands full. Good luck you are going to need it.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 7:02 pm

      Thanks for sending luck. Some days are great, some days not so great. Sharing the stories makes her seem less bent on destroying the rhythm of my life and keeps me in balance. Glad I decided to blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. fozziemum / Jun 24 2013 7:23 pm

    Oh Ruby…red red wine….goes to your head…makes you forget..well Neil Diamond songs for you now…nawty monkey ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. 2browndawgs / Jun 24 2013 8:28 pm

    Wow what a bender!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 24 2013 9:05 pm

      Just terrible. Wasn’t like she’d been left alone all day. Two huge walks and she was fast asleep when I left her. Not sure what happened!

  9. mollieandclaire / Jun 24 2013 10:17 pm

    I’m sorry, all I can say is Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!
    Mollie remains in absolute awe of Ruby’s activities.

  10. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Jun 25 2013 12:52 am

    Wow Ruby, you’ve got Dottie beat in the wine department! I don’t think she would know how to open a bottle much less drink it!

  11. Luke's Adventures / Jun 25 2013 4:59 am

    You crazy girl! You have good taste.

    I tasted red wine before. I sneezed and ran away from it.

  12. Linda Trunell / Jun 25 2013 6:09 am

    Ruby, Ruby, Ruby! What shall we do with you – besides love you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 25 2013 10:30 am

      More tummy rubs please. She is actually a great dog – heels beautifully, stands, recalls well and is happy and friendly. If only I could turn off the food obsession and searching for dead morsels when we’re out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. thepaddingtonfoodie / Jun 25 2013 10:11 am

    Aah Ruby must have been under the influence of last weekend’s supermoon. The strangest things happen when the moon is full and bright, and this weekend’s was the fullest and brightest of them all.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 25 2013 10:27 am

      I think you may be right. Completely overlooked the lunar possibilities. Was feeling a little (stir) crazy myself this weekend! Time for more crumpets I think…

  14. ilovetoscribble / Jun 25 2013 6:29 pm

    ruby! how come you never shared some of that wine with me?? cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 25 2013 6:30 pm

      oops sorry. maybe next time?

      • ilovetoscribble / Jun 25 2013 6:33 pm

        haha! i’m gonna raise another glass to that, ruby! in the meantime, i hope you’re off that hangover. i’m not fond of those too :p.

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 25 2013 6:55 pm

        yes thanks I feel great and up to my usual tricks ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. thecompletecookbook / Jun 27 2013 9:38 pm

    Oh my! I really don’t mean to laugh but…
    You have a lovely blog and Ruby is a girl after my own heart with enjoying a glass of red.
    Thanks for popping over to my little blog.
    Have a super day.
    ๐Ÿ™‚ Mandy

  16. littledogslaughed / Jun 27 2013 11:24 pm

    Ahhh Ruby–Jack Henry, Hubble and Anna bow to the queen. You have raised the bar for all of us! Thought Jack Henry says he is a beer drinker himself.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 10:07 am

      Thanks although I’m definitely going tee-total after the terrible hangover.

  17. The Sundog Drift / Jul 12 2013 3:49 am

    Ruby had the right idea. Sweet dreams.

  18. likeitiz / Jul 12 2013 9:27 am

    When I saw the title of the post, I thought, is this about some old song with a reggae beat? Boy! Was I in for a surprise! Ruby, you’re a sly one! I’m a little relieved Beau is nowhere your adventurous spirit.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 12 2013 11:54 am

      Yes – don’t you love UB40? Sad to say it was not quite what we expected when we arrived home. new mattress is great though!

  19. well minded / Jul 22 2013 4:25 am

    I am impressed, and I want my very own Ruby drinking buddy!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 22 2013 12:42 pm

      Considering it was a screw top bottle you should be impressed! It was also an expensive red so you can see I have taste and am happy for you to join me next time ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Who’s been sleeping in which bed? | Ruby the black labrador

Leave a Reply

