Skip to content
28 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Improving my ball skills

Practice makes perfect

Practice makes perfect

Never really understood the whole fetching thing.  Other dogs race excitedly after balls or sticks only to bring them back and see their owners throw them away again.  Could never be bothered myself and didn’t see the point but today I finally got it!

Went up to the greenest part of the park (very lush because it has been the wettest June on record) and owner ran around waving the ball before skimming it super fast a few inches above the ground.  Actually fancied sucking on the ribbon so bolted off to pick it up.  Thought it would be interesting to try that again so delivered it quick smart to owners feet (got huge pat, treat and high-pitched squeals of delight).  Owner tossed ball again so I galloped off, picked up the ribbon with my teeth, executed a perfect barrel roll and added in a growly back rub for good measure.  Got up and instead of just dropping the ball/ribbon decided to race back for a treat, pat etc etc and go again.

Had such a fun time.  Wrestled with few tug of wars now and again but spent about half an hour playing fetch.  Took ribbon to bed for a suck before my morning sleep.  Want to keep an eye on it to do a repeat performance tomorrow.

29 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julianne Victoria / Jun 28 2013 12:50 pm

    Sounds like you had lots of fun! I do not play fetch. Nalle will sort of, but we are not retrievers. Wooooowooooooo, Ku

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 1:40 pm

      I am descended from a long line of champion retrievers but have always found it pointless until now, unless its retrieving dead things…and then I don’t hand them over 🙂

  2. fozziemum / Jun 28 2013 1:00 pm

    Yay…it’s way good fun isn’t it Ruby 🙂 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 1:41 pm

      Yes and happy owner = happy me 🙂

      • fozziemum / Jun 28 2013 2:34 pm

        Finally you get it Ruby hahhaha 🙂

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 29 2013 2:54 pm

        Took me a while but yes I’m there, although a read skills can easily be unlearnt…

      • fozziemum / Jun 29 2013 5:33 pm

        Hahahahahahah 🙂 bless you Ruby 🙂

  3. 1st World Dog / Jun 28 2013 1:38 pm

    Woohoo Ruby… Go Gundogs!!!
    And if you find a friend who is a Hearder than they can chase you. That’s how it works with me and my mate (he is a Rough Collie).

  4. Sonel / Jun 28 2013 3:03 pm

    Sounds like you had lots of fun teaching owner how to keep you busy Ruby. 😉

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 4:27 pm

      yes am exhausted! (but happy actually as I felt we were really bonding with each other)

      • Sonel / Jun 28 2013 7:13 pm

        That is the perfect way to bond and I bet she enjoyed it just as much. 😀

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 7:27 pm

        Yes we had the best time!

      • Sonel / Jun 28 2013 7:32 pm

        I am very glad. 😀

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 7:34 pm

        Yes me too. Think we’re getting there !

  5. weliveinaflat / Jun 28 2013 4:26 pm

    The next step, when you are feeling particularly frisky, is to pick it up but play keep away. 😛

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 4:30 pm

      No, no, no – don’t teach her bad tricks (am covering Ruby’s ears). I’m hoping this fetching lark will teach her to bring me dead animals she finds instead of running off with them. Not that I really want them of course but I’d rather get them off her (poo bag over my hand) than wait 20 mins whilst she eats them 🙂

  6. Elsa Primal Pooch / Jun 28 2013 4:52 pm

    I like retrieving my pooch tube… especially from water. I’m rubbish at handing it over though. I haven’t quite got the idea that if I want it thrown again I have to give it up. That’s a difficult concept but then I am only 11 1/2 months 😉 Practice makes perfect indeed.

  7. Long Life Cats and Dogs / Jun 28 2013 7:25 pm

    Well done! Sounds like a fabulous time and too cute that you suck the ribbon. Sweetie pie.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 28 2013 7:28 pm

      Yes I like the ribbon bit more than the ball. Actually mum does too because it’s easier to throw it!

  8. mariayarri / Jun 28 2013 10:56 pm

    Wow, you know how to please your owner 😉 ! ..
    I can fetch things various that Maria throws to me … but most of all i like to carry with me a stick in my mouth when we are out walking … That is not so common to do for us Drevrar but i´m not like others of my breed 🙂 // Yarri

  9. Linda Trunell / Jun 28 2013 11:04 pm

    Max says, “I only give up the ball if they have another one and show it to me and then throw it. If I have the only one, I want to keep it!” Hahaha 🙂

  10. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jun 30 2013 1:36 am

    Good for you! Now I wish my Darla could read. She could read what you wrote and learn about this wonderful joy. She could a lot more of the exercise that she very much needs and have so much fun. She thinks this activity is so beneath her.

  11. 2browndawgs / Jul 1 2013 8:31 pm

    See, you are a good retriever! Cashing something is a fantastic way to get a dog to start fetching. Now you can have all kinds of fun!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 1 2013 8:33 pm

      Yes we’re both getting the hang of it and I had a fab time at the beach on holiday today diving into waves to fetch sticks. Lots of fun!

Leave a Reply

