Skip to content
29 June 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Are mice as tasty as possums?

What can I smell?

What can I smell?

Still pouring with rain but light winds brought tasty smells.  Half way round, standing still for this photo, I sensed a treat was in store.

It was –  a splayed out possum, guts open to the elements, lay next to the fence. Much larger than my usual feastings and didn’t quite know what to do so just stood looking at the mess. Owner came racing alongside me and surveyed the damage.  Probably hit by a car and limped into the park or attacked by a fox.  Sad really.

Owner called ranger to collect the body as far too big to tidy into a poo bag. We both said a silent ‘goodbye’ and then pottered off.  First time for ages I haven’t devoured something like that on the spot.  To make up for missing out, gulped down a small dead mouse a little further along the track…glad my taste buds still work.

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sonel / Jun 29 2013 4:38 pm

    Whahahaha! Oh Ruby, you are a treat for sure! But I think your owner indeed appreciated the fact that you didn’t tast the possum. Poor thing. A pity it was dead. It sure is sad.
    Thanks for a lovely post and love the photo. You are so gorgeous! 😀
    *big hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 29 2013 4:54 pm

      Thanks – think I’m looking pretty good at the moment 🙂

      • Sonel / Jun 29 2013 5:03 pm

        I think you’re looking pretty great! 😀

  2. weliveinaflat / Jun 29 2013 5:31 pm

    I sense a growing wisdom in this furkid :)P

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 29 2013 6:50 pm

      Yes, me too. Hope it’s not a passing phase. Maybe she’s moving out of her teens 🙂

  3. fozziemum / Jun 29 2013 5:49 pm

    Oh Ruby no possum pie…just as well you will end up with yukky wormies :(..but a mouse is better than nothing 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 29 2013 6:50 pm

      Yes, mouse was tasty and easy to eat, although the tail was pretty chewy!

      • fozziemum / Jun 29 2013 7:12 pm

        Its not for eating Ruby ..the tail is for flossing 😉

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jun 29 2013 7:14 pm

        thanks will bear that in mind next time – not good to have mouse breath!

      • fozziemum / Jun 29 2013 7:15 pm

        Indeed not…..peeee yewwwww 🙂

  4. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jun 30 2013 1:35 am

    OHhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Ruby eating mice, really? ick. ick ick. But thank goodness you didn’t eat the other thing.

  5. likeitiz / Jul 1 2013 2:09 am

    Awww, Ruby! You didn’t! I’d be mortified if Beau ate a mouse or similar!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 1 2013 9:20 am

      really! I eat something dead almost every day – my park is littered with possums, rats, mice, ibis, bats. as an always hungry labrador I’m constantly on the lookout for a snack!

      • likeitiz / Jul 1 2013 9:24 am

        I would probably feel faint whenever I walk with you, Ruby. Maybe I’m too prissy for you?

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 1 2013 9:25 am

        No, you could balance out all my bad habits!

  6. 2browndawgs / Jul 1 2013 10:09 pm

    Once when Thunder was out pheasant hunting he gulped down a live field mouse…yuck! At least you feast on dead ones. 🙂

  7. mariayarri / Jul 2 2013 1:02 am

    Now Maria showed me a photo of this Opussum … You do have some special animals where you live!
    Dead mouse is something we also can find here 🙂 and if i´m fast enough i can eat it before Maria stops me 😉 // Yarri

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 2 2013 7:14 am

      Yes Australia has lots of creatures not found anywhere else especially marsupials – animals with pouches.

Leave a Reply

