Skip to content
3 July 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Watch out for pointy plants

20130703-112548.jpg
My high alert lookout post is bordered by spiky succulents. I keep guard over the garden from above and leap over the plants to chase off willy wagtails, rabbits, magpies and small lizards.
This morning three rabbits hopped over the fence and started to nibble the grass. I watched for five long minutes then hurled myself off the deck. Sadly my paws slipped and instead of clearing the spikes I fell straight into them. Ouch ouch ouch. Apart from hurting my pride I also pricked my front paw. Owner took me straight down to the sea for a bath in the salty water. Felt much better after that.

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. 1st World Dog / Jul 4 2013 8:56 am

    Sorry Ruby. Laughing lots. Could just imagine the chaos as I would likely do the same thing.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 4 2013 10:26 am

      And the garden is otherwise lovely apart from the now flattened section…

      • 1st World Dog / Jul 4 2013 8:19 pm

        You will have to start a section on holiday recommendations. Mum is organising our summer holiday at the moment. “Pet Friendly” in Stayz is a mandatory.

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 4 2013 8:25 pm

        Booked this on stayz…2.5 hours from syndey. On the beach. highly recommend it. Will pass on details on my return:)

  2. weliveinaflat / Jul 4 2013 12:14 pm

    Oh Ruby, I think the plants are spiky for good reason 😛

  3. Sonel / Jul 4 2013 11:39 pm

    Oh, I know those spiky plants too well Ruby and I am glad it didn’t get you in your eyes. I am just glad you didn’t hurt yourself badly and good thing that owner fixed the ouch quickly. Take care sweetness. 😀 *big hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 5 2013 6:20 am

      Thank you. My paw felt much better after a paddle thanks. There are so many new things to discover!

      • Sonel / Jul 5 2013 2:57 pm

        Enjoy sweetie! 😀 *hugs*
        PS: Something I’ve been meaning to ask you for some time now Ruby, but I keep forgetting to ask. The mind wanders you know..old age or something….
        What do I call your “owner”? I call Donna’s owners Mrs. P and Mr. P. 😀

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 5 2013 3:09 pm

        Ha ha! I’m Charlie and my partner is the pedant in the kitchen (because he cooks but is slow, exact and vv pedantic ie. no ingredient substitution, follows recipe to the letter etc etc). I also have two lovely, happy, well-balanced, active teenagers. Pedant is lowest in the pecking order after Ruby!

      • Sonel / Jul 5 2013 3:21 pm

        Well, great to know your name at last Charlie and now I have that lovely song in my head..hehehehe. You sure are lucky to have someone who cooks, pedant or not. LOL!
        I bet Ruby keep your beautiful teenagers quite busy too and well, like Pedant my hubby is also lowest in the pecking order after Simba…hahahahah

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 5 2013 3:24 pm

        Yes it’s funny how the men get relegated over time!

      • Sonel / Jul 5 2013 4:21 pm

        hehehehehe

  4. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Jul 5 2013 4:13 am

    Ouch is right, I hope that paw is feeling better!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 5 2013 6:22 am

      Yes lifted my paw up immediately and hopped to the beach (only 2 mins walk). Salt water worked wonders 🙂

  5. 2browndawgs / Jul 6 2013 8:20 am

    Oh those darn plants. Always getting in the way!

Leave a Reply

