Skip to content
15 July 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Run rabbit run

IMG_1537

If you remember, last week I ate some rabbit droppings under a damp tree in the park .  Well today, I’m please to confirm a more than positive sighting occurred – in fact, we made contact…

Minding my own business (as usual) a flash of white shot through the undergrowth.  Sprinted off round and round the trees, feeling the burn as the lactic acid set in.  Suddenly saw it – a large white, fluffy (domesticated) rabbit.  Normally kept in a cage it was out of breath so I just grabbed it, gave it a good shake and raced back to my owner.  Then ‘sat’, ‘left it’ and then waited for the treat.

Owner speechless (a) because I’d found and caught a live rabbit and (b) because amazingly I’d dropped it on command at her feet. Felt extremely pleased with myself and sat wagging my tail excitedly, expecting more treats (which I got).

We called the park ranger who put the rabbit in a cage and took it to the local vet.  Job well done and we both skipped happily all the way home.

Owner’s note: Obviously this could have gone disastrously wrong with a completely different outcome. We’ve come across rabbits who have escaped or been dumped before.  Extremely pleased persistence with the ‘fetching’ training has paid off!

27 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Office Diva / Jul 15 2013 10:00 am

    Good job, Ruby! My little Chaya caught a rabbit a few months ago—- a tiny wild one, right in front of me as I was taking pictures of a cactus. We were all surprised, especially when I shrieked at her to drop it! She did, then we nursed it for a few weeks (not a scratch on it, but kinda smooshed), and then let it go. Unfortunately, she caught a rabbit about a month later. I’m going to pretend that it wasn’t the same rabbit; perhaps an unloved cousin. I wasn’t around and she DIDN”T drop it. ;O(

  2. Linda Trunell / Jul 15 2013 10:17 am

    Good girl, Ruby!

  3. fozziemum / Jul 15 2013 10:19 am

    Good girl Ruby for dropping…important indeed…we have taught the boys to ‘leave it’ ..a must in the country where anything could be grabbed…bet it was fun though;)
    Hugs Fozziemum x

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 15 2013 10:33 am

      Yes it was fun – but rather hairy and I kept trying to spit out all the white fluff 🙂

      • fozziemum / Jul 15 2013 10:34 am

        You will get cotton mouth Ruby 😉

  4. weliveinaflat / Jul 15 2013 11:33 am

    Hooray!!! You have every right to look so pleased with yourself in the picture Ruby! Good job!
    And it seems rabbit need their fluff to survive 😛

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 15 2013 12:24 pm

      Yes – quite an amazing spectacle! I think I actually kept quite calm and only called “come” once and was flabbergasted she came. Might be once in a blue moon though…

      • weliveinaflat / Jul 15 2013 12:29 pm

        Oh be optimistic, if it can happen once, it can happen twice! It’s good to see the fruits of your training labour isn’t it 🙂

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 15 2013 9:13 pm

        So true but there is the Ruby factor…

  5. Julianne Victoria / Jul 15 2013 11:59 am

    Yay Ruby! We are all very proud of yooowooooowoooooo! Ku

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 15 2013 12:23 pm

      yay – feeling very pleased with myself too although the chase took it out of me. hardly managed to get home and am now zzzzzzz.

  6. likeitiz / Jul 15 2013 2:19 pm

    You can come and help us collect them in our yard anytime, Ruby. We now have a colony! Rabbits are known to be quite diligent procreators…

  7. 1st World Dog / Jul 15 2013 3:13 pm

    Very impressive Ruby!!!
    I have given chase a few times to the wild ones we sometimes come across on our walk but don’t get very close. I really just move them off the path. Not sure what I would do if I actually got one???

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 15 2013 6:08 pm

      If you get one you hold it very gently in your mouth and take it to your mum and drop it at her feet. Then you will get tonnes of treats and pats and be really spoilt for the rest of the day 🙂

  8. susank456 / Jul 15 2013 5:53 pm

    I’m glad you had success with the retrieval training. It always feels great when it clicks with the dog.

  9. Sonel / Jul 15 2013 7:57 pm

    Oh, you should be very pleased with yourself indeed Ruby and that photo says it all! What an adorable and clever furry kid you are! Well done on saving the rabbit and I bet the treats was an extra bonus too! Great shot Charlie! Love it! 😀 *hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 15 2013 9:02 pm

      Treats always good. Photo op was only a small window so slightly blurred but had to capture her happiness 🙂

      • Sonel / Jul 16 2013 6:26 am

        I think it’s a stunning shot! She has such a stunning smile! 😀

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 16 2013 9:57 am

        Thanks!

  10. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jul 16 2013 6:17 am

    Maybe you should recite, curiosity killed the…I guess we have to change it to dog.

  11. 2browndawgs / Jul 17 2013 10:13 pm

    Good job Ruby. Poor rabbit. 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 17 2013 10:53 pm

      At least I didn’t eat him and I know now he’s or maybe she’s gone to a good home. So at least wasn’t eaten by a fox 🙂

Leave a Reply

