Skip to content
20 July 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Go Swannies!

IMG_1569

Lost my dog tag (again) in the park yesterday so cheap skate owner put a key ring on my collar instead and wrote in my name and phone number in permanent marker on it.

Not quite the same as my tag – it doesn’t jingle musically as I trot along and it makes me look like a Sydney Swans fan.  My family avidly support the Swans, an Australian Rules Football team which is a sport pretty much only played in Australia.  Sitting in our local cafe today I got busted by a Swans player who lives around here and was forced to pose with dog tag front and centre. Completed embarrassed, am cross with owner and need a proper tag immediately!!!

33 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. weliveinaflat / Jul 20 2013 12:30 pm

    😀 I guess sometimes you have to put up with the humans’ passions huh 😛 Maybe you should send that picture to the football team 😛

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 20 2013 2:14 pm

      There is another photo with the swans player and ruby but she looks even more mournful. Don’t want to be accused of pet exploitation!

      • shazzarob / Jul 20 2013 4:20 pm

        She does look somewhat embarrased…..x

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 20 2013 7:45 pm

        Yes she was poor thing. Knew it didn’t sound the same and was very painful all day about it. Will go to petbarn tomorrow!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 20 2013 7:47 pm

      I did actually get my photo taken with the player who was having coffee in the cafe. This was excruciatingly awful for me. He patted me and made funny noises and I just slunk against the wall. was happy to get home.

      • weliveinaflat / Jul 21 2013 1:54 am

        Awww poor thing, Donna will probably behave much the same. She doesn’t do too well with strange humans, although she is ok with small children. Their size don’t intimidate her maybe. 😛 That player should have given you some treats, maybe he should keep possum legs in his pocket, that will make you feel better, right? 😛

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 21 2013 1:34 pm

        Yes can’t understand why all humans aren’t loaded with treats. I love prams because they always have food in the basket under them and I love small children because they are usually carrying or have recently carried food and therefore need licking.

      • weliveinaflat / Jul 21 2013 2:11 pm

        Bwahahahahaha, well be sure to inform their parents they need licking before you do that… to save the human some grief 😛

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 21 2013 2:14 pm

        No need, they know my intentions. I just barrel on in there and start kissing them. They enjoy it don’t they?

  2. araneus1 / Jul 20 2013 12:56 pm

    Needs a Footscray tag to balance it out!

  3. Julianne Victoria / Jul 20 2013 1:09 pm

    Ruby, you do look very unhappy! I hope you get the proper tag you deserve soon! Woooowooooo, Ku

  4. 1st World Dog / Jul 20 2013 2:35 pm

    I think the red and white work wonderfully with your glossy black fur Ruby.
    I used to loose mine too… So mum got me a collar with my name and her phone number embroidered into the collar. Think the company who did it was called ‘personalized pet’ or something like that.

  5. Sonel / Jul 20 2013 3:48 pm

    Awwww shame Ruby! I am sorry to hear that you lost your favourite tag. I am sure Charlie will get you another one like that very soon. Hang in there hon. 😀 *hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 20 2013 7:44 pm

      Wish she’d just hurry up and get one though!

      • Sonel / Jul 20 2013 8:19 pm

        LOL!

  6. taylorr1991 / Jul 20 2013 10:42 pm

    Maya also has a certain skill at losing her tags, although usually she just manages to twist the ring part and the actual tag falls off in the house. Today she has settled for getting grubby and making a mess of her collar. Oh labradors!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 21 2013 1:38 pm

      Yes Ruby’s collar frequently goes through the washing machine. Either mud laden or dead animal smelling or rusty from having been in salt water.

      • taylorr1991 / Jul 24 2013 6:33 am

        Sounds the same as with us! Sometimes we just give up and get a new one!

  7. easyweimaraner / Jul 20 2013 10:59 pm

    I agree – that’s as embarrassing as to wear a ribbon with a bow :o)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 21 2013 1:36 pm

      Glad you agree with me. Have never worn a bow but at Xmas I’m dressed in reindeer antlers. I suffer it for treats and to get into the spirit of things but it’s soul destroying.

  8. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jul 21 2013 3:49 am

    Quite a clever solution I would say. Better to have that than to go to the pound right?

  9. mollieandclaire / Jul 21 2013 7:48 am

    Ruby looks really cross!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 21 2013 1:28 pm

      She was ropeable and in a very ‘I’m not happy mum’ mood all day! Have now purchased replacement tag so she is skipping along happily again.

  10. Misaki / Jul 21 2013 7:50 am

    Hi Ruby, just popped over from Ku’s to say hi:-)
    The dog tag thingy sounds like something my mummy and daddy would do too, you have my sympathy

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 21 2013 1:31 pm

      Great to meet you Misaki and thanks for following. What is wrong with these humans? I need to keep my dignity. It’s bad enough when she makes me wear my red raincoat – I look like a vampire!

  11. littledogslaughed / Jul 22 2013 12:44 am

    Oh my goodness what a sad looking face Ruby-but am glad to hear that you are now jingling properly-after all a girl has to look her best!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 22 2013 12:41 pm

      Yes I was vvv sad and showed it. Have new tag but it sounds like a cow bell so jury’s still out on this one…

  12. 2browndawgs / Jul 22 2013 8:59 pm

    You do look upset Ruby. You need a collar with a built in tag!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 22 2013 9:01 pm

      Happy to report all back to normal now. Have proper tag again although it does sound like a cow bell – an early warning sign for unsuspecting possums!

Leave a Reply

