Skip to content
24 July 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Who’s been sleeping in which bed?

IMG_0646

Suspect most dogs sneak straight onto the couch when their owner goes out. Just need to keep an ear cocked for the key in the front door, leap onto the floor and act nonchalantly to avoid suspicion.

Today I didn’t leap quickly enough. In fact was dead to the world when owner tip-toed in and caught me legs akimbo on her bed. Big no-no. Bad enough being upstairs too. Got reprimanded and banished. I claimed confusion as have several places for snoozing and don’t understand which one/some/all of these I’m supposed to use – such as:

  • Stretcher bed in the laundry
  • Soft pillowy bed, upstairs during the day, near my stretcher bed area at night
  • Downstairs sofa near the back door
  • Downstairs ottoman
  • Upstairs lounge room sofa (creep onto the end of this initially and then spread all over it)
  • Ottoman near lounge room sofa
  • Sister’s bed
  • Brother’s bed
  • Owner’s bed

The last three have been my secret (apart from the red wine incident) but am officially banned from bedrooms now. But I still have 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 comfy, soft, cosy places to sleep – see why I’m confused? Owner says confusion is no excuse and I’m to behave like a ‘normal’ dog and relocate to ‘dog bed’. But I know what ‘normal’ dogs do – they take risks, are sneaky and after all are only trying to be treated like one of the family and have a place to rest their weary bones.

46 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Office Diva / Jul 24 2013 11:45 am

    Ohhhh, the Red Wine Incident. I remember that one! Ouch. Keep up the good behavior, Ruby!

  2. terrimm / Jul 24 2013 11:47 am

    Hi Ruby, Moo here. I sleep on my Mum’s bed allll day, but she doesn’t realise (at least I don’t think she does)! I have to make sure I get off at least half an hour before she gets home though, coz she’s pretty clever, she feels around for the warm spot to see if she can catch me out.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 1:22 pm

      Oooh yes, forgot about the warm spot. Thank’s for reminding me. Maybe I also need to straighten the duvet out – although this task might be a bit beyond me…

  3. Kuruk / Jul 24 2013 11:49 am

    Wow Ruby you have so many beds! Me and Nalle share three beds with our two kitty siblings, but the kitties get to sleep on Mama’s bed too. Sometimes Nalle slithers onto Mama’s bed though. Shhhhhhh!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 1:23 pm

      Don’t worry your secret’s safe with me. What’s it like sleeping with cats?

  4. ilovetoscribble / Jul 24 2013 12:12 pm

    haha! ruby you’re funny. and too smart! πŸ™‚

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 1:24 pm

      Thank you very much. Sometimes too smart for my own good though…

      • ilovetoscribble / Jul 24 2013 1:27 pm

        you gotta admit, though, it really is confusing to have lots of places to sleep on. πŸ™‚

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 1:57 pm

        Yes you’re right – I need to rationalise. Or at least stop her from getting on the sofa!

  5. 1st World Dog / Jul 24 2013 12:42 pm

    Your wellbeing and comfort should be the primary concern Ruby.
    Mum long ago gave up on “dog beds”. Figured she just tripped over them and / or I would rip the insides out of them.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 1:25 pm

      My point exactly – hate being forced off the sofa at night time and sent with a pointed finger to the laundry. No fun at all 😦

  6. gdjoken / Jul 24 2013 2:25 pm

    Ha ha, we’ve had to start shutting our bedroom doors when we’re not home, otherwise we find suspiciously copious amounts of dog fur on our pillows and comforters when we get home.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 3:20 pm

      Good idea – we now have yet another child gate at the bottom of our stairs. got rid of them as our kides grew up and now have to scavenge them from council clean ups to barricade out house!

  7. weliveinaflat / Jul 24 2013 3:16 pm

    Ruby!!!!! You are too young to have weary bones!!!!!!! πŸ˜€ And I love your monochrome top posts and pages, I have read all of them πŸ˜€ Bwahahahahaha!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 3:22 pm

      I’m nearly 21 what do you mean!!! Slowing down in my old age…and glad you like the sidebar addition – thanks for the tips once again πŸ™‚

  8. Sonel / Jul 24 2013 4:35 pm

    Awww…love that sneaky photo Ruby! You look so cute and are so blessed to have so many beds to sleep in but those big ones in the bedroom are the best ones, aren’t they? Simba loves sleeping with us in winter .. or should I say, we love sleeping with him.. πŸ˜† But since he doesn’t have long legs I have to pick him up and in the winter our muscles are achy so I make sure I take him down from the bed as well so he doesn’t have to jump down and maybe hurt himself. Now he is sleeping on his couch-bed next to me in the computer room. All snuggled up just like you in the photo. πŸ˜€

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 5:26 pm

      Simba is sooo lucky to sleep with you. I am banished downstairs because of (a) my snoring and (b) the fact that I sleep on my back with my legs in the air/against the wall πŸ™‚

      • Sonel / Jul 24 2013 8:23 pm

        LOL Ruby! Snoring and sleeping like that is not a sin at all. You should hear Simba snore. Sometimes he and my hubby have snoring competitions and so loud that I even wake from that. And that sleeping style is so adorable to me. Next time just give Charlie that beautiful puppy dog look and I bet you will be allowed upstairs again. πŸ˜€

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 8:26 pm

        I’m not falling for those puppy dogs eyes (again)…

      • Sonel / Jul 24 2013 8:28 pm

        Hey Charlie! You’re not supposed to listen to me and Ruby’s conversations! Go and bake a cake or something! πŸ˜†

        Ruby, keep her away from the blogs and practice those puppy dog eyes. She fell for it once! πŸ˜†

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 8:30 pm

        ok will go back to my knitting and leave you and Ruby to conjure up a cunning plan:)

  9. susank456 / Jul 24 2013 6:03 pm

    Oh yeah Charlie and Orso think that any raised cushy surface is their spot.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 24 2013 7:54 pm

      Ha ha – so you have the same problem. actually I think we all do! Initially Ruby slept outside but with all kinds of wildlife roaming in the garden she never slept and spent even more time asleep during the day. Had to move her indoors into a non interesting room πŸ™‚

      • susank456 / Jul 25 2013 9:04 am

        Our first lab was never allowed on any furniture and he adhered to the rule, but our second lab would sneak into bed with Mitch after I left for work. That was the end of the rule “No dogs on the furniture”. It’s been complete anarchy since.

  10. easyweimaraner / Jul 24 2013 10:26 pm

    You need a bed-gps to find always the right place. I’m allowed in bed – because I have to protect them from mischief by night :o)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 25 2013 10:33 am

      Aaahh so that’s the angle I need – security guard – thanks for the tip πŸ™‚

  11. Hope / Jul 24 2013 10:51 pm

    Ruby, I could not read this post to Enos, Roscoe, Daisy, and Gage because Enos and Roscoe sleep with us, it might confuse them. They have been reprimanded lately for crawling up oon the clean laundry before we could fold it. Give and take huh? You sure are a cutie! πŸ™‚

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 25 2013 10:47 am

      Thank you but didn’t you know I can communicate with them by telepathy? so they already know about the best sleeping spots and have told me they are determined to keep rolling in the lovely fresh smelling laundry. watch out! πŸ™‚

  12. Gizmo / Jul 24 2013 11:29 pm

    All beds are “dog beds” to me Ruby…You look so comfy and happy how could anyone want to move y ou?

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 25 2013 10:48 am

      My point exactly – it completely inequitable that humans have high comfy beds whilst some of us are relegated to something hardish near the floor. I say ‘Dogs of the world unite’ πŸ™‚

  13. Misaki / Jul 25 2013 7:17 am

    Hehehe I sleep on the big bed when mummy and daddy are out. But made the mistake of leaving one of my toys on there and got caught out

  14. mariayarri / Jul 25 2013 7:59 am

    Hi Ruby ! I share my bed with Maria … ItΒ΄s a bit crowded … I find myself in this congestion … But i wish we had a bigger bed … // Yarri πŸ™‚

  15. fozziemum / Jul 25 2013 9:07 am

    Hahahaha well Ruby I have come out in the morning and found Forrest sleeping on the back of the lounge chair…hmmm I have no idea how he hasn’t fallen off and hurt himself..it’s not likeyou can’t see a giant lab !!
    Have a great day hugs Fozziemum x

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 25 2013 9:47 am

      Good for Forrest. I’ve seen other dogs do that too. The best I can do is to curl up really small and pretend I’m invisible. I don’t think they can see me then…pity our house is white on white and I’m a great big hulking black thing!

      • fozziemum / Jul 25 2013 10:43 am

        Oh poor Ruby! ..yes you must stand out like..well you know the Aussie saying πŸ˜‰ hehehe!

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 25 2013 10:49 am

        Like what? – sore thumb? tall poppy? or something less savoury?

  16. 2browndawgs / Jul 25 2013 8:47 pm

    A dog needs a comfy place to snooze.

    the brown dawgs

  17. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jul 27 2013 2:31 am

    Oh poor Ruby, they just aren’t treating you right are they? Not giving you enough treats, not letting you sleep in the bed. What in the world? You could sleep in my bed all day any day πŸ™‚ What’s a bed without a dog in it anyway? Empty of love thats what I say.

  18. Suzanne and Nemo / Aug 10 2013 9:55 pm

    There are places dogs aren’t allowed?? At our house we have a daybed (with a Serta mattress no less) in front of the picture window for Nemo, Rico et al to watch the world go by, we have king-sized sheets thrown over top of our double beds for when those beds are used as dog trampolines, there are also two uber-thick dog beds scattered about the living areas which periodically move when they are landed on at full tilt….. oh, and the loveseat with its throw cover over it fits one large, wadded up Lab-Great Dane mix quite snugly.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 11 2013 3:13 pm

      Golly – you are so lucky!!!! Beds as dog trampolines sound like lots of fun πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

