Skip to content
26 July 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Just a taste test

IMG_1591

Am in purgatory. Cooking blitz in the kitchen, master chef stepped away for two minutes, I sneaked in and hoovered up:

  • Four eggs, 3/4 cup sugar and vanilla essence (out of a bowl, waiting to beΒ whisked)
  • One loaf of freshly made spelt bread
  • 10 out of 12 white choc and raspberry muffins
  • Plate of fresh veggies (to be stir fried for dinner)
  • 250g block of butter

Smells were all too tempting and I’d been drooling for about half an hour waiting for a smidgen of something, anything. Now I’m not getting any dinner or probably breakfast tomorrow. And right now I’m STARVING!

37 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. fozziemum / Jul 26 2013 10:58 am

    Oh Ruby!!! poor mummy was getting her Master Chaffe on like me and you went and scarfed it all…you will be maybe less hungy when the goodies make a hasty retreat from the back door!! hahaaha..you Labrastomachs really are pills!! heheheheh πŸ™‚
    Hugs Fozziemum x

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 26 2013 12:01 pm

      Good job I didn’t snaffle a successful batch of macarons. Then I would have been in even more trouble.

      • fozziemum / Jul 26 2013 12:30 pm

        Hahahaha you would be shipped without return postage to NZ ..hahaahah πŸ™‚

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 26 2013 12:31 pm

        Is that worse than purgatorial banishment?

      • fozziemum / Jul 26 2013 12:32 pm

        Could be Ruby!! I have seen their tv show about Neighbours at war…not perhaps the place for such a sweet natured soul such as yourself πŸ˜‰

  2. 1st World Dog / Jul 26 2013 10:59 am

    Oh dear Ruby…. That is an impressive haul. No wonder you are in trouble.
    I like a long walk and run is in order to work it all off. A lovely day… Maybe a trip to the beach.
    And then you will need a good meal to refuel :0)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 26 2013 11:57 am

      Am hungry and looking forward to dinner tonight now. Hope the day goes quickly. …

  3. weliveinaflat / Jul 26 2013 11:45 am

    Hello drama queen, that is quite a feast already! Go walk it off! πŸ˜›

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 26 2013 11:58 am

      Did huge walk on very empty stomach this morning. Awaiting dinner tonight. Slim pickings in the park today.

  4. Kuruk / Jul 26 2013 11:56 am

    Ruby, ruby, ruby! You’re gonna have a very bad tummy ache! I hope it doesn’t give you the runs! Wooooooowooooooooo, Ku

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 26 2013 11:59 am

      Thanks for your concern but I feel fine and stomach is functioning fine. It’s cast iron…

  5. Sonel / Jul 26 2013 2:39 pm

    Whahahahah! Oh Ruby, don’t fret! I am sure you will get something lovely to eat soon. It’s such a hassle to wait around to be fed, isn’t it? πŸ˜†

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 26 2013 3:23 pm

      yes that’s why I usually eat on the go and grab what I can wherever I find it πŸ™‚

  6. mariayarri / Jul 26 2013 6:24 pm

    Ruby ! I just love you πŸ™‚ … You must be my soulmate πŸ™‚ … // Yarri πŸ™‚

  7. Hope / Jul 26 2013 8:28 pm

    Ruby I am suprised your tummy is not killing you!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 27 2013 1:15 pm

      Me too but I feel absolutely on top of the world tunny wise and no ill effects at all!

  8. susank456 / Jul 26 2013 8:54 pm

    Only labs can eat all that and not get sick. AJ ate his way through the pantry one and never even burped once.

  9. Elsa Primal Pooch / Jul 26 2013 9:39 pm

    I’m impressed. I only managed to scarf a few blueberries yesterday. I must try harder πŸ˜‰

  10. easyweimaraner / Jul 26 2013 11:34 pm

    I will put some cookies in my cd drive – when I press the start button you should get them in some seconds…

  11. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Jul 27 2013 12:11 am

    Uh oh… are you grounded now?

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 27 2013 1:17 pm

      Grounded and locked out of the kitchen area with newly secured double bolted child gate (ahh the problems of living in an open plan home). Been on three forced marches though to keep the weight off.

  12. readingwithrhythm / Jul 27 2013 12:16 am

    Oh Ruby! I’m right there with you! What do these humans expect? But it will soon be forgotten – by all parties.

  13. Booksphotographsandartwork / Jul 27 2013 2:28 am

    You sound just like me, always hungry. Ruby if you live with me I’d handing you tidbits all the time πŸ™‚

  14. Gizmo / Jul 27 2013 8:28 am

    Bless you Ruby you have lifted counter surfing to new heights…hope you get out of the “dog house” soon (and your tummy doesn’t rebel!)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 27 2013 1:13 pm

      The kitchen bench is just the right height for me but now the child gate is firmly latched so I can’t get in that area – boo hoo. Stomach is iron clad so no timmuy trouble at all!

  15. 2browndawgs / Jul 27 2013 10:09 am

    Hope you don’t get a tummy ache!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 27 2013 1:14 pm

      No – I felt great and fell asleep for hours afterwards. My morning constitutional was absolutely fine!

  16. Misaki / Jul 28 2013 1:30 am

    OH my dog you’re my hero!!

  17. littledogslaughed / Jul 29 2013 12:57 am

    Jack Henry bows before you-you are truly the reigning champ of counter surfing Ruby-you should get an award!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 29 2013 12:38 pm

      Thanks Jack Henry – maybe I should set up a counter/couch surfing award πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

