Skip to content
28 July 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

WordPress Family Award

wordpressfamilyaward

Since Ruby and I started blogging three months ago I’ve posted every day, have over one hundred followers and thousands of likes. Milestones indeed!  Sometimes I’ve been extremely cross with Ruby and sharing my angst has been cathartic; other times I’ve been happy and wanted to share our funny stories.  My main aim with blogging in journal form was to see if I could fall in love with Ruby after three years of finding her more of a chore than a delight.

Pleased to say that in chronicling the life of Ruby I have fallen for her again – less of a gushing ‘awww isn’t she cute’ but more of a respect and understanding as one animal to another. Whilst she can be annoyingly predictable when there’s dead or alive food around and has extremely selective hearing, observing her has taught me a sense of grace and living in the moment.  I feel increasingly attached to her now and much more of a team.

But, as well as falling in love, this process has unexpectedly (because I wasn’t really sure what to expect) made connections with a whole range of other people. I will never be suspicious again to a friend who gushes over someone they met online.  Surprisingly I’ve found you truly can develop great relationships even though you’ve never met.  As long as everyone is honest and supportive and doing it for the right reasons, the system works.  If only the rest of the world was like this.

Blogging is a chance to express yourself (whether or not anyone is out there listening), to contemplate life, to take stock.  It takes time and effort to keep up with correspondence but you keep doing it because you don’t want to let people down or not recognise their support.  You can’t choose your biological family but you can choose your WordPress one!

To finish off – be creative, do what you’re doing because you want to, be interesting and interested and let’s keep this community safe, happy and supportive.

Big thanks to We live in a flat for nominating Ruby for the WordPress Family Award and for raising a refuge dog in smog ridden Singapore.

Of course I now pass the award on to some of the key members of my WordPress family and they are – drum roll please:

Sonel – you are part of my family too.  I know you’re a no awards blog but I had to at least mention you on this post.

If you would like to pass on the award to somebody else whom you feel have made an impact on your WordPress experience then:

1. Display the award logo on your blog and link back to the person who nominated you.

2. Pick 10 bloggers you see as having an impact on your WordPress experience and family.

3. Let them know you have awarded them and spread the love.

37 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. prayingforoneday / Jul 28 2013 3:37 pm

    Well done on the Award, I created this in April this year and it is good to get a ping back showing me it is flying around Word Press connecting people as I said in red in the title here: http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/the-wordpress-family-award/
    Thank you all for becoming a “Small” part of my Word Press Family

    More love, less hate

    Shaun

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 28 2013 3:54 pm

      Hi Shaun. Thanks for setting it up and of course – it’s still going strong! Great to have something which celebrates community 🙂

      • prayingforoneday / Jul 28 2013 4:03 pm

        Yeah.. 🙂
        That is why I done it..
        I live in Scotland, and speak to people all over the World. So this Award is for people that mean as much as family, whom me may never meet

        Shaun

  2. Edibles&Travels / Jul 28 2013 3:50 pm

    Thank you so much! That’s so lovely 🙂 Big hugs to Ruby and you!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 28 2013 3:57 pm

      No worries at all – that’s for inspiring me with the reviews and your posts. Went to kitchen by mike again on friday – it’s soooo nice there!

  3. Misaki / Jul 28 2013 4:19 pm

    Congrats on the award and thanks so much for sharing it with me.

  4. Crazydoglady / Jul 28 2013 6:54 pm

    Congratulations on the award, I love Ruby’s face, reminds me of Bob, both look innocent but he’s not.

  5. Crazydoglady / Jul 28 2013 6:55 pm

    Oh forgot to thank you for following Bob

  6. fozziemum / Jul 28 2013 7:13 pm

    Ruby that is so sweet and when mum getz of her Patootiez she will be getting right on to it…she has a glass of wine now so….hmmmm Big hugs Doc and the gang xxx

  7. Rosie / Jul 28 2013 10:12 pm

    Ahh, that’s lovely! Looking forward to catching up with you both tomorrow for more adventures. X

  8. Sonel / Jul 28 2013 10:55 pm

    Congrats Charlie and Ruby and thank you so much for thinking of me too. That is so sweet and I am honored to be part of your lovely family. Love you both! 😀 *big hugs* xxx

  9. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Jul 28 2013 11:58 pm

    Congrats on a well deserved award and thank you for sharing it with us!

  10. easyweimaraner / Jul 29 2013 12:10 am

    Congratulations Ruby! It’s great to be a part of a giant family :o)

  11. weliveinaflat / Jul 29 2013 12:35 am

    Very well said 🙂

  12. littledogslaughed / Jul 29 2013 12:56 am

    Congratulations Ruby! I know our days are a little brighter after reading your posts-keep up the very pawsitive work!

  13. readingwithrhythm / Jul 29 2013 1:20 am

    congratulations on your award! Well deserved! I have enjoyed keeping up with all things Ruby. Thanks for sharing her.

  14. Kuruk / Jul 29 2013 2:00 am

    Oh Ruby, thank yoooowoooowooooo! I’m so happy you and your mom have come closer tooowooowoooo! Nose kissies to both of you! Ku

  15. tinywhitecottage / Jul 29 2013 2:29 am

    Congratulations. I really appreciate your narrative in todays post and in all your Ruby posts too! I guess I love coming here because I too have a black lab who shares many of Ruby’s characteristics and it helps a little to know he is “normal” (haha!)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Jul 29 2013 12:41 pm

      Glad your lab is ‘normal’ they are a strange breed!! Yours was one of the first blogs I followed and I love seeing what you’re cooking and have made all the veggie recipes and of course the sweet things too 🙂

  16. 2browndawgs / Jul 31 2013 10:23 am

    Congrats on your award!

  17. well minded / Aug 3 2013 3:07 am

    Congrats on your award! I completely agree that the blogging family is a great one. Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy 80th Birthday Grandpa! | Adventures of a Dog Mom

Leave a Reply

