Skip to content
4 August 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Don’t blame it on the sunshine

IMG_0508_2

Got into big trouble this morning.  Due to scheduling conflicts with the family, only had two long lead walks yesterday.  Today, free of the shackles that bind, I went a little crazy.

1. First, I ran off in completely the opposite direction to scoff a roast chicken breast someone had kindly left sitting on a picnic table yesterday.

2. Then, I nicely heeled for a bit but raced ahead to chase two ibis picking at a dead possum.  Grabbed the whole thing and ate a back leg before I was caught by a posse of humans (quietly enjoying a Sunday walk with their well-behaved dogs) who cornered me under a tree.  Owner prised remains of possum from my mouth whilst wearing a poo bag on each hand.

3. And finally, I bolted out of the park gate, across a very busy road and started scavenging scraps from some overturned bins in a driveway.

Not quite sure what got into me.  Can’t blame it on the sunshine or the moonlight or the good times but I will blame it on the boogie…(whatever that is).

30 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kuruk / Aug 4 2013 10:12 am

    Um, Ruby, I think you may have compulsive eating disorder. 😛 Woooowoooooo, Ku

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 7:09 pm

      You’re right – I have to eat and eat and eat and eat. I never stop unless I’m asleep and even then I’m dreaming of my next meal 🙂

  2. thepaddingtonfoodie / Aug 4 2013 10:13 am

    Oh no! Ruby on a suicide mission dodging traffic. She can’t get run over that would be too, too sad.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 7:08 pm

      I know – too scary for words – across Darley Road…The food obsession is just so strong even though she is extremely good at coming when called, even when she has her nose in the air.

  3. 1st World Dog / Aug 4 2013 10:48 am

    Ruby… Please don’t go running on roads, especially busy ones. The rest of your adventures seem fair. Roast chicken… YUMMY!!!

  4. fozziemum / Aug 4 2013 11:31 am

    Ruby!! you are driving mum nuts!! not at all the behaviour of an award winning red carpet debutante 🙂 Hugs Fozziemum xx

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 5:08 pm

      Yes she is going nuts. I’m perfect one day and terrible the next 🙂

      • fozziemum / Aug 4 2013 7:26 pm

        Nawty monkey ..:)

  5. readingwithrhythm / Aug 4 2013 1:28 pm

    You are certainly keeping up the good name of Labrador retrievers everywhere! Way to go Ruby!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 5:19 pm

      That’s what I’m aiming to do! But I’ve only a few of my 9 lives left 🙂

  6. susank456 / Aug 4 2013 5:46 pm

    Too many close calls, Ruby you are not a cat.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 6:59 pm

      Yes you are right – I have been chastised and will remain close to my leader at all times from now on – promise…

  7. weliveinaflat / Aug 4 2013 7:55 pm

    I think Ruby’s human needs more kali phos n.6 salts than Donna… i think I’ll get a heart attack if Donna ran across a busy road. 😛

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 4 2013 9:33 pm

      Yes – it was pretty hair raising especially as I had to dash across after her. Not good at all 😦

      • weliveinaflat / Aug 6 2013 3:28 pm

        I’m glad you’re both safe 🙂

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 6 2013 7:32 pm

        Thanks – we are. Only about 3 lives to go though…

  8. Office Diva / Aug 5 2013 12:50 am

    Oh my goodness……Ruby, that cracked me up. I can just imagine your mama with poo bags on each hand. That’s funny. Also, I am glad the possum was really dead, because sometimes they just “play” dead. whew!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 5 2013 1:03 pm

      Glad I made you chuckle. I always laugh at mum because she’s got these baggy black things on her hands and is always sort of crouching over me with them before she forcefully prises my huge jaws open. She just needs to ask me to ‘leave it’ nicely. That’s all 🙂

  9. Misaki / Aug 5 2013 2:47 am

    I would do the same in your paws! I love rummaging round in rubbish looking for scraps. Mummy says she’s embarrassed of me and tells everyone she meets that she DOES feed me, despite my scavenging BOL

  10. Lynn Thaler / Aug 5 2013 10:35 am

    Sounds like a fun day, even if it involved a few “unauthorized adventures.”

  11. 2browndawgs / Aug 5 2013 10:32 pm

    Be careful of busy roads Ruby!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 6 2013 11:32 am

      Yes – I know I set mum’s heart off and then she had to dodge traffic to get across and find me. Was suitably chastised…

  12. Sonel / Aug 6 2013 2:51 pm

    Oh dear Ruby, you have to be careful of the busy roads sweetheart. Some cars just don’t stop for furry kids like you. I am just glad owner was there to rescue you. I feel sorry for Charlie having to take that awful possum part from you. It must have smelled awful. You must take care and don’t make it too hard for Charlie. She loves you too much. 😀
    Have a great day both of you. 😀 *hugs*

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 6 2013 7:33 pm

      I know – I try to bury those instincts but they pop to the surface when I least expect them. Am turning three tomorrow so maybe I’ll ‘grow up’ overnight 🙂

      • Sonel / Aug 7 2013 2:13 am

        Now that is wonderful news Ruby! You must have a wonderful day cutie and I am sure Charlie is going to spoil you more than usual. 😀 *hugs*

  13. Booksphotographsandartwork / Aug 9 2013 10:59 am

    Oh Ruby you are too much! I just took my two dogs for a walk together and I came swearing that I will just not do that anymore. My right arm feels longer than my left by far and my back hurts and I really think I am leaning sideways. Seriously dude, what is the problem? Why can you guys not just walk peacefully?

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 9 2013 3:38 pm

      Don’t you know we’re taking you for a walk. My mum spent 6 month in intense physio last year with terrible forearm damage. Now have a different collar/lead arrangement which helps…

Leave a Reply

