Skip to content
19 August 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

If you go down to the woods

IMG_1298

Last Monday I sniffed out a dead cat deep in the paperbark grove. It was a healthy looking thing that probably ran away from home and got savaged by a fox. Been keeping an eye on it and today, a week later, deemed it sufficiently decomposed enough to roll in.

I didn’t eat it, or run off with it or bite a piece off it for future gobbling. I just rolled in it and can’t understand why I’ve been shampooed three times, had tomato puree massaged into my back and been wiped down with eucalyptus oil. Β Thought I smelt just perfect.

26 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. suzie81 / Aug 19 2013 4:11 pm

    Mmm… Nice…

  2. susank456 / Aug 19 2013 5:47 pm

    Charlie loves nothing more than to roll in the nastiest smelliest dead thing and then come running up to show me how proud he is of himself. It usually takes about 3 or 4 good washes to get rid of the smell.

    Something we use for skunk spray that might help you is equal parts of hydrogen peroxide and baking soda mixed with dawn dish soap. Be sure to wear rubber gloves because it is quite strong. Lather in and rinse well, just don’t let it sit on her skin too long.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 19 2013 10:06 pm

      Thanks for the tip – an American friend told me to use the tomato sauce as that’s what she used for skunk but Ruby just ends up smelling of deadsomething with a tinge of tomato. need to try a new approach πŸ™‚

  3. shazzarob / Aug 19 2013 6:43 pm

    Oh my you naughty dog.I remember Jake rolling in something disgusting when we went camping one time. We could not get rid of the pungent pong and had to cut our trip short.:/

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 19 2013 10:06 pm

      Golly that sounds drastic – Ruby just has to stay outside all day πŸ™‚

  4. weliveinaflat / Aug 19 2013 7:31 pm

    Oooh stinky! Have never heard of using tomato puree before πŸ˜› Shampoo wasn’t enough?

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 19 2013 10:07 pm

      Yes very stinky. Apparently tomato is used for skunk smells but she actually just smells of deadsomething with a bit of tomato so I don’t think it works (on people maybe?) Shampoo definitely not enough. She’s stinky!

  5. Sonel / Aug 19 2013 8:19 pm

    LOL Ruby! Wow! There sure are a lot of dead things around there and don’t mind the humans. Lots of things smell very different to us and dead cat smell is not a nice smell at all. hahahahaha Furry kids might like the smell but we sure don’t. I love the smell of Eucalyptus oil. πŸ˜€

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 19 2013 10:08 pm

      My furry friends were very impressed with the smell and I attracted a lot of attention πŸ˜‰

      • Sonel / Aug 20 2013 3:06 pm

        LOL! I bet! πŸ˜€

  6. easyweimaraner / Aug 19 2013 11:08 pm

    Why your bipeds used tomato puree for your back? Are they preparing a hot dog? Sounds dangerous – be careful when they use mustard, Ruby :o)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 20 2013 5:07 pm

      Ha ha – supposed to get rid of skunk but it doesn’t get rid of dead cat. She still stinks today…

  7. Linda Trunell / Aug 19 2013 11:24 pm

    Oh, Ruby! Phew 😦 We love you from afar.

  8. Booksphotographsandartwork / Aug 20 2013 2:31 am

    Oh my that is so gross Ruby. You big stinker you.

  9. Misaki / Aug 22 2013 6:10 am

    oh noes Ruby, can’t believe you had to have the Bword:-( I don’t see a problem with what you did at all!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 22 2013 11:30 am

      I don’t mind the water – it’s the stuff they rub into my back I don’t like!

  10. readingwithrhythm / Aug 22 2013 7:45 am

    I am with you all the way Ruby! You sure find some good treasures!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 22 2013 11:15 am

      Yes – good at sniffing things out but not discerning when it comes to eating or rolling in them!

  11. 2browndawgs / Aug 24 2013 9:39 am

    Hmmm are you sure it was a cat?

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 24 2013 5:28 pm

      Yes – see later posts. Sad to say it was probably killed by a fox 😦

  12. likeitiz / Aug 28 2013 6:25 am

    That made me really laugh, Ruby! Sometimes, I wonder what I’d do with you if I was your human. I’d be crying quite often. My hubby would be very perplexed. Where did your human get the eucalyptus oil? That’s a neat idea to massage you with!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 28 2013 5:05 pm

      Yes – that’s why I’m blogging – it’s therapy!!! Eucalyptus oil is sold in supermarkets and chemists here – very comment beacause of the proliferation of eucalyptus trees πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

