Skip to content
23 August 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Selective deafness

IMG_1889

It’s official at last. I’ve been diagnosed with select deafness, a fairly common labrador ailment but a condition which is exceedingly painful for humans.  Sadly this mean if I’m:

– Eating dead animals

– Slurping up some kind of poo

– Munching on grass

– Eating a tiny, tiny crumb of bread

– Chasing cockatoos

– Sniffing on the breeze

– Way behind and tired and puffed out

– Aware my owner is on a tight schedule

I can’t hear any sit, stay, come, stand, watch, up and down commands. I just keep calm and carry on.

32 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. susank456 / Aug 23 2013 5:30 pm

    All of our labs have had selectively deafness. They can’t hear us calling them five feet away, but can hear someone open the peanut butter jar on the other side of the house. Amazing.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 23 2013 5:59 pm

      ha ha – yes Ruby can hear the tinkle of her lead and the burp of a tupperware box with her biscuits in…

  2. Lynn Thaler / Aug 23 2013 7:33 pm

    My Lab mix, Joey, has the same ailment.

  3. Sonel / Aug 23 2013 8:09 pm

    Yep, Simba has that too..hehehehh

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 23 2013 8:49 pm

      A common problem – wonder why vets don’t fix it 🙂

      • Sonel / Aug 24 2013 3:10 pm

        Whahahahah! I wish! But some men have that problem too and no doctor could ever fix it, so I guess that is why vets can’t do it either. 😆

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 24 2013 5:30 pm

        Here’s a question – would a woman vet would be able to solve this connundrum?

      • Sonel / Aug 24 2013 5:41 pm

        Whahahahah! I wonder! 😀

  4. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Aug 23 2013 11:11 pm

    I believe Boomer and Dottie are suffering from the same ailment!

  5. readingwithrhythm / Aug 24 2013 1:03 am

    Did you say something?

  6. littledogslaughed / Aug 24 2013 1:12 am

    hmmm….. that seems to go hand-in-hand, with the “I am sorry I cannot understand a word you are saying look” that I get as they stare at me and then continue to do what they are not supposed to;

  7. 1st World Dog / Aug 24 2013 5:49 am

    I believe human males also suffer from it when they are watching TV. Mum also says that there is also a blindness version that occurs in human males that means they don’t see mess or housework. Maybe we labs (and crosses) caught it from them. The human doctors say there is no cure for their version either.

  8. 2browndawgs / Aug 24 2013 9:43 am

    LOL Chessies suffer from that too!

  9. Booksphotographsandartwork / Aug 25 2013 5:09 am

    Yes my dog has a really bad case of the same thing errrrg.

  10. Misaki / Aug 26 2013 6:03 am

    hehehe i have that problem too!

  11. weliveinaflat / Aug 26 2013 1:01 pm

    I assure you it doesn’t just affect labradors, it affects local mongrels too!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 26 2013 3:20 pm

      So a common trait with apparently no cure then?

      • weliveinaflat / Aug 27 2013 9:52 pm

        Not unless the human has magic… Like super awesome food in hand, I guess. Otherwise my “nos” and “stops” are gone with the wind!

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Aug 27 2013 11:21 pm

        Ha ha 🙂

  12. Clowie / Aug 29 2013 12:47 am

    I have that as well – I don’t see why it’s a problem!

Trackbacks

  1. Phoneography weekly: The temple at night | We Live In A Flat

Leave a Reply

