Skip to content
4 September 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Patience is not a virtue of mine

IMG_2007

There is rather too much (paid) work going on at home.  Lots of sitting down staring at a white box, ear to the phone and tapping with fingers. It gets to around 3pm and I’ve had enough. Have balanced my jaw gently on her knee, brought her toys, scraped my paw on her hand and made little whining noises. Know she completely overwhelmed by the amount of stuff she has to get through before Granny and Grandad get here next week from the UK but I need love and attention – now!

39 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. susank456 / Sep 4 2013 5:56 pm

    I know how you feel. Charlie and Orso will come and bump my elbow or lay their heads on my leg and generally just make nuisances of themselves until I stop and take them outside.

  2. Elsa Primal Pooch / Sep 4 2013 6:01 pm

    At least it’s paid so that she can keep you in the manner to which you have become accustomed. I hope that you have great fun with the grandparents – They’re usually much more relaxed than parents. I bet you’ll get spoilt rotten (here’s hoping).

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 5 2013 3:57 pm

      She will get spoilt rotten and they always feed her from the table – grrrr.

  3. Sonel / Sep 4 2013 6:29 pm

    Yep, not fair at all Ruby and you look so adorable in this photo that Charlie took. How an anyone ignore a beautiful and charming face like that? Just know when Granny and Grandad gets there you are going to get attention from them as well and it would make up for everything. 😀 *big hugs*

  4. 1st World Dog / Sep 4 2013 9:08 pm

    Yeah my mum was out all day today at some work meeting. How rude! She keeps telling me work = money = food…. No work = no bones.
    Exciting Granny and Grandad coming to visit. My Nana and Poppy off traveling in their caravan but on route back down the coast.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 4 2013 9:20 pm

      yes – will have to wamrly encourage my parents to take off too. maybe a campervan is a good option for them…

  5. Misaki / Sep 4 2013 9:14 pm

    That’s so not fair that you’re being neglected. I bet your granny and grandad make up for it when yhey visit though

  6. weliveinaflat / Sep 4 2013 9:23 pm

    Very striking! Think about it this way, at least she is tapping on the white box at home rather than at the office!

  7. 2browndawgs / Sep 4 2013 9:56 pm

    Make her pay attention Ruby!

    the brown dawgs

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 5 2013 3:59 pm

      Too right – the focus should be on me – always! Have done better today and was shattered after 2 hour walk. Think she did it on purpose so I’d sleep all day:)

  8. easyweimaraner / Sep 4 2013 10:14 pm

    I agree, Ruby. In worst case of oblivion you can try some head butts :o)

  9. fozziemum / Sep 4 2013 10:34 pm

    I am sure your granny and grandad will love to spoil you and make mum seem like a dim memory…all that spare time that they have can be devoted to you….and mum can keep working and leave you in peace 😉 Hugs Fozziemum xx

  10. Office Diva / Sep 5 2013 1:12 am

    Poor Ruby; I can tell that you are quite neglected, and have already forgotten all the other times when it was all about you. Children!!!
    Enjoy your time with family; those are precious moments indeed!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 5 2013 4:01 pm

      Thanks for the support I am awaiting an injection of new blood into the family and will now have two others to pester:)

  11. Booksphotographsandartwork / Sep 5 2013 2:20 am

    Oh you poor baby, I completely understand. We humans can be so inconsiderate or your needs. Maybe sigh a lot really loudly.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 5 2013 4:03 pm

      Think she got ths hint today – have been stealing socks, newspapers, credit card left out on the table and have increased slight whine to bark mode:)

  12. Kuruk / Sep 5 2013 3:08 am

    I’m sure Grannie and Granddad will give you their undivided attention! Woooowoooo, Ku

  13. mollieandclaire / Sep 5 2013 3:34 am

    I know that look 🙂

  14. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Sep 5 2013 10:59 pm

    Boomer and Dottie know about your pain, our move has caused a major disrupt in our walking schedule!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 6 2013 5:52 pm

      It’s hard isn’t it. I remember when we moved house and had a weekend of camping on people’s floors. Ruby was so disorientated!

  15. nightlake / Sep 6 2013 7:58 pm

    Demanding Ruby, but she can’t help herself:) and a cute pic:)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Sep 6 2013 8:01 pm

      Thanks – it unusual I’m working quite so hard and she’s so persistent!

  16. debhuntinbrokenhill / Sep 6 2013 8:19 pm

    Oh that expression is priceless! Come 4.30 every afternoon Maggie jumps off the sofa, comes to sit next to me at my desk and tells me it’s time for a walk. Ruby looks like adorable in your photos of her.

  17. The Golden Life / Sep 17 2013 11:58 pm

    Fear not, Little One, you are not the only one lacking patience. Still, I believe you have more of this virtue than you give yourself credit for — after all, you made it all the way to 3 PM before begging for attention. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Is Patience a Virtue or a Vice in Educational Innovation? | Thinking Aloud

Leave a Reply

