Skip to content
12 October 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

What did I do wrong?

IMG_2461

Walk started well with a pungent smell wafting over from the ponds so I pottered over to investigate. The park ranger lady was setting up an array of dead stuffed animals for a kids party, including four bats on a washing line, a possum on a tree branch on a wooden stand and a small wombat.

Got very excited about the bats but the possum smelt delicious. Before anyone could stop me I grabbed the possum (and the display stand) and headed off into the bushes. A chase ensued with the ranger, owner and a few parents. Decided the safest place was in the lake so leapt in with possum (and the display stand) in my mouth.

I wouldn’t come out and they couldn’t come in so I stood there until my feet got cold, then dropped the possum (and the display stand) in the lake and ambled back to shore. Possum sank like a stone, ranger furious and small children all in tears.

Owner devastated. Was seriously castigated and force marched away. That’s what will happen when you think I’ve grown up and forgotten about all my old tricks.

50 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. NW Frame of Mind / Oct 12 2013 1:47 pm

    Oh no Ruby!

  2. Linda Trunell / Oct 12 2013 1:55 pm

    Sitting here picturing this whole scenario and laughing out loud! Ruby, Ruby, Ruby. 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 12 2013 2:45 pm

      Was an adventure that’s for sure. Here I was thinking that she’d finally ‘settled’ and this happens. vv cross at the time but blogging helps me get all the frustration out:)

  3. 1st World Dog / Oct 12 2013 2:10 pm

    One of your best Ruby!
    I can’t believe you actually did that… Potentially outdoing C2S adventure.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 12 2013 2:47 pm

      Thanks v much although sadly there was no food in it. Can’t believe she did this – it was like a comedy sketch and the wooden stand thing kept getting in her way and the branch the possum was on broke off – terrible at the time but I can sort of see the funny side now…sort of

      • 1st World Dog / Oct 12 2013 2:50 pm

        I’m laughing for you if any consolation.
        1st World Dog shocker @ Agility training this morning…. Not even pretending to jump bar… Just run straight through it!

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 12 2013 3:06 pm

        What is wrong with them??? you invest all this time and effort and all they can repay you with is a few licks now and again…

      • 1st World Dog / Oct 12 2013 3:09 pm

        And a laugh… Enough that we feel compelled to blog about the stories.

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 12 2013 4:50 pm

        Too true!

  4. barb19 / Oct 12 2013 2:15 pm

    What a hoot . . . but you were only doing what comes naturally!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 12 2013 2:48 pm

      Thank you! natural instinct kicks in – dead things in water is my speciality. Sad to say I lost interest and the thing is at the bottom of the lake now.

  5. suzie81 / Oct 12 2013 5:51 pm

    Oh Ruby – certainly in the doghouse now!! I used to have a Golden Retriever, Ollie, that loved human food. We took him to the park and he started running around, until he discovered a family that was having a picnic. He helped himself to as much as he could before I could drag him off, and I marched him away in shame as the children started crying because my dog had eaten their food…

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 12 2013 8:46 pm

      They are just garbage guts aren’t they??

      • suzie81 / Oct 14 2013 4:44 pm

        Haha! I’ve never heard that expression before but I love it!

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 14 2013 6:35 pm

        Maybe an aussie term then??

      • suzie81 / Oct 14 2013 7:16 pm

        possibly!

  6. saucygander / Oct 12 2013 7:50 pm

    Oh Ruby! What can I say? I’ve seen a few dog-related frolics in a park near us, but this is pretty spectacular!

  7. Suzanne and Nemo / Oct 12 2013 9:29 pm

    My eyes are watering, that’s so funny – I can envision the scene unfolding as you were described it! Thank heaven, my Nemo was never/is not entranced by anything that smells other than food from the kitchen. He won’t even take dog treats from strangers, which chagrins the checkout lady at the PetSmart to no end. Now, Rico, on the other hand, is turning into quite the garbage can and I’ve caught him doing an experimental shoulder roll in the grass after the geese have waddled through. The funny part about that is: Rico isn’t my dog, and I don’t tell his human that he’s done that because the fellow is paranoid about messy dog fur on his floor and clothes as it is. I figure, the poor dog would have to suffer a daily bath if his human only knew the antics his dog is starting to pull. Thank goodness for Teflon fur – I just towel him off and send him back home!

  8. readingwithrhythm / Oct 12 2013 10:34 pm

    One of the best moves I’ve heard yet!! Way to go Ruby!! You are my hero!

  9. easyweimaraner / Oct 12 2013 10:52 pm

    You are my hero today, Ruby! Well now the possum is no O-possum it’s an U-possum, because it’s an U-Boat now :o)

  10. Emily @ Adventures of a Dog Mom / Oct 13 2013 12:15 am

    So I think it’s safe to say that you’re grounded right now and have been sent to your bed?

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 13 2013 1:53 pm

      Yes I have. cold shower and banished downstairs. was only try to save it from over petting my small children:)

  11. Kuruk / Oct 13 2013 1:34 am

    Ruby, maybe you need be on leash to avoid embarrassing your mum! Wooo!

  12. ramblingratz / Oct 13 2013 2:48 pm

    I’m sure your display of labrador behaviour was far more educational than pegging stuffed bats onto a washing line!

  13. scarlybobs / Oct 14 2013 3:47 am

    Hahaha oh Ruby! Me and my boyfriend had a real belly laugh over this! 😀

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 14 2013 5:34 am

      Glad you could picture everything. It was as bad as it sounds although things seem funnier on reflection…

  14. weliveinaflat / Oct 14 2013 11:03 am

    Now where did those humans get the fool idea of stringing dead animals all over the place anyway???

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 14 2013 3:10 pm

      I know – idots!! Trying to simulate I don’t know what and causing havoc:)

  15. Hike a Pup / Oct 16 2013 9:44 am

    This is hilarious. Today I had to wade up to my waist in a cold New England lake to save a special dog water frisbee because my 12 year old Golden and 5 month old Lab lost track of it and I could not cajole them out to it.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 16 2013 5:00 pm

      You are crazy – although I’m sure the frisbee was expensive. our ponds are full of man eating eels so no one was rushing in to save the possum and its stand:)

  16. Hike a Pup / Oct 17 2013 10:38 am

    There were probably leaches in the pond I went into. Too bad I am not just throwing sticks like in the old days with the two older dogs. Ketli wants to learn enough to compete for a working dog certificate or a junior hunter title. But the biggest problem is ME.. learning how to teach her.. and not lose bumpers in the process.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 17 2013 2:04 pm

      Two brown dawgs is a great blog on wordpress for ideas about bumpers:)

      • Hike a Pup / Oct 24 2013 5:39 am

        Great. I will check it out. Between obedience training and field work basics I am taking more time to train her than any of our past dogs.

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 24 2013 5:52 am

        I reckon putting in the hours training early is really worth it. Generally ruby is fantastic – it’s just when she gets a whiff of something dead…but she is excellent and focused in the water:)

      • Hike a Pup / Oct 24 2013 5:59 am

        She sounds like such a love. I often call Ketli “Goof”. I don’t think I called any of our other dogs Goof. Her wiggle waggle rear end and tail are a hoot.

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 24 2013 8:18 pm

        I also have a rather large bottom which sways with me, stays with me:)

  17. Sonel / Oct 17 2013 6:05 pm

    LOL Ruby. Well, I am sure owner will not forget it so don’t worry. 😀 *big hugs*

  18. 2browndawgs / Oct 20 2013 4:22 am

    Oh no…lol.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 20 2013 5:38 pm

      Just a terrible thing to happen and now we’ve been reported to the rangers…

Trackbacks

  1. What did I do wrong? | Outdoors Indoors--Bringing the Outdoors Indoors to Enjoy
  2. Worldwide Black Lab crime spree continues |
  3. Worldwide Black Lab crime spree continues | caffeinated music

Leave a Reply

