Skip to content
27 October 2013 / rubytheblacklabrador

Soggy bread Sunday

IMG_2250

Sundays bring a welcome dip in the harbour – I look forward to it all week. Apartments overlook the sea wall and today a lady stood on her balcony, throwing bits of stale baguette to the ducks below. Charged down the steps, first to chase the ducks and then to gobble the bread.

Lady thought it was hilarious so kept feeding me, despite protestations from the shore. When she finally finished the baguette, I hung around waiting for more, ignoring the frantic ‘come’ command. Suddenly got really tired and, being out of my depth, started to panic and huff and puff.  The tide carried me away from the steps and I glimpsed owner wading in, fully clothed but she was miles away.

From out of nowhere a double kayak glided alongside, hauled me up across the boat and paddled me to safety. Flopped on the steps before trudging painfully slowly up the hill home. Owner wet through and eternally grateful to the rescuers. Me exhausted with a belly full of soggy bread.

41 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. susank456 / Oct 27 2013 6:12 pm

    Don’t you just love strangers that know nothing about dogs! I’m glad Ruby came out okay, but I would definitely want to throttle the bread thrower. What an ordeal!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 27 2013 6:14 pm

      A nightmare in fact. I could see it all unfolding and couldn’t do anything to get her back in. Had a nice hot choc when I got home though:)

  2. Maria M / Oct 27 2013 6:50 pm

    What a horrible nightmare for both of you, I’m glad there are kind people in your neck of the woods.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 27 2013 7:25 pm

      yes – Aussies are a very helpful bunch – although they were sniggering a lot at having to help a 30kg wet dog out of the water:)

      • Maria M / Oct 27 2013 7:46 pm

        They should have been happy it wasn’t Bob (he’s a tad heavier.)

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:00 pm

        Oops!

  3. Rosie / Oct 27 2013 6:54 pm

    Ahhh, never a dull moment in your life !
    Rosie is awaiting to see you. Without you her life is boring ; )))

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 27 2013 7:25 pm

      Ruby’s life is never boring but she’s always on the look out for Rosie. See you soonishx

  4. mollieandclaire / Oct 27 2013 6:58 pm

    I can’t hit the like button. How scary. Mollie doesn’t swim but I can guarantee she would have done the same thing if she did…

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 27 2013 7:27 pm

      I know – it was awful and there was no way I could get to her. Sill thing!!! Another of her nine lives lost…If only she would get over the food obsession.

      • mollieandclaire / Oct 27 2013 7:35 pm

        She won’t! Molls is 7 and a half and just after I’d finished writing to you on the last post I caught her licking my breakfast plate….

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:00 pm

        Very sneaky!

  5. mariayarri / Oct 27 2013 7:06 pm

    Ruby … I told you before … Stay away from the water … After reading about your adventure, i´m more convinced than ever that water is an unsafe place to be in … So to speak … // Yarri 🙂

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 27 2013 7:27 pm

      Yes, yes I know I should be more careful but there was food around and I couldn’t help myself. I did get panicky where I saw mum wouldn’t reach me in time though.

  6. mariayarri / Oct 27 2013 7:08 pm

    I forgot to say that i´m very glad that you get rescued ! // Yarri 🙂

  7. fozziemum / Oct 27 2013 7:32 pm

    Ruby ! we put a harness with a hugely long rope on the boys when they go in the dam..they can swim but get tired so it’s just an extra safety measure….scare the life out of you! hugs Fozziemum

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:00 pm

      What a great idea! I have a 3 metre lead – might work and make swimming time less stressful!

      • fozziemum / Oct 28 2013 7:05 pm

        It does..we just put their car harnesses on and attach it to that..collars slip off to easy..means they can swim right out into the muddy dam of unknown depth and we can pull them back if needed 🙂

  8. 1st World Dog / Oct 27 2013 8:11 pm

    Ruby… you are a gundog…. you are a lab…. you should be able to swim. Yes ducks and food also fit your bread but so does swimming.
    How do you get yourself into these situations young lady? You make me laugh but don’t scare me like that.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:01 pm

      I know – never a dull moment and you’d think we humans were hopeless with out control over her. It all happens so quickly!

  9. easyweimaraner / Oct 27 2013 8:55 pm

    I’m glad the bawatch was there at the right moment… after all that’s a very fertile sunday, Ruby :o)

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:02 pm

      Me too – the boys in orange and yellow certainly saved the day then paddled off into the sunset:)

  10. Office Diva / Oct 28 2013 12:55 am

    Oh my goodness! You two are so funny……this happened to Shadow and I once at the park (not the swimming part – he can’t be bothered with getting wet), but the begging for bread from some poor kids who wanted to feed the ducks. He’s so adorable, though, and quite persistent so the kids were happy to try to feed both, but mostly Shadow. All that gluten didn’t help him with his struggles to maintain his figure.
    This story takes the baguette, though………..kayak rescue. Funny post, I am still laughing! :O)
    Happy Sunday.

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:03 pm

      Thanks – am happy you are still laughing. I recovered with hot choc and an afternoonw snooze. Ruby lay bloated on the couch.

  11. Kuruk / Oct 28 2013 1:19 am

    Naughty, naughty lady! Woo!

  12. readingwithrhythm / Oct 28 2013 2:48 am

    Wow! What an adventure! Glad you lived to tell about it!

  13. DoggyMom.com / Oct 28 2013 9:09 am

    I love black & white photography. I think it brings out the textures more clearly than colour. You’re beautiful, Ruby!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:04 pm

      Thank you very much – I like b+w too. It’s hard to photo Ruby as she’s black and I just can’t get the exposure right:)

  14. weliveinaflat / Oct 28 2013 2:16 pm

    You know… when I don’t comment immediately after read the post… it’s usually because you have rendered me speechless Ruby… I think the human needs to take lots of tonics to strengthen her heart… I know I would …:P glad you were rescued you 30kg silly bread gobbler! 😛

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:06 pm

      I am frequently rendered speechless by young Ruby. That effort was yet another example of unforseen circumstance, a combination of events which could have led to tragedy. Maybe we should stay indoors and out of trouble…

      • weliveinaflat / Oct 28 2013 7:15 pm

        It’s not tragedy when nobody has died ^ ^ and young Ruby is quite lucky… I imagine a human less tenacious may already have given up. Perhaps you can consider putting her on a long line sometimes…although I’m not too sure of the safety of that as well consider Ruby’s appetite for vigorous adventure. Then again, one can’t always count on there being a kayak…

      • rubytheblacklabrador / Oct 28 2013 7:29 pm

        Quite so – safety first is always my motto (well until Rubes came along):)

  15. 2browndawgs / Oct 30 2013 12:09 pm

    Ruby. Ruby. Ruby. So glad a kayak happened along when you needed it!

  16. Clowie / Oct 30 2013 11:55 pm

    I’m glad you were rescued! The lady shouldn’t have kept feeding you when asked not to.

  17. sweetinsomniac / Nov 11 2013 4:11 pm

    Glad you are fine Ruby! That must’ve been a scary experience!

    • rubytheblacklabrador / Nov 11 2013 7:38 pm

      Thanks! Well it wasn’t scary until I realised I was too tired and started sinking! Was fun til then:)

Leave a Reply

